don't read the menu options and go directly to the page content 

Southwark Labour announces new cabinet following election victory

06 June 2014
Following Labour’s ground-breaking landslide in the local elections, Labour Leader Cllr Peter John has announced Southwark Labour’s new cabinet, which includes a mix of new and experienced members.

Cabinet portfolios have been refreshed to reflect the Labour council’s key priorities and ambitious for the new term, including Labour’s ground-breaking pledge to deliver free swimming and gyms for all Southwark residents.

Three new members have joined the Labour cabinet, including Cllr Mark Williams, who served as deputy cabinet member for private rented sector last year and will now lead on regeneration, planning and transport, and Cllrs Michael Situ and Darren Merrill, who will share responsibility for environment, recycling, community safety and volunteering.
Cllr Peter John said: 
“The recent election results were a resounding endorsement of what Labour has done in Southwark over the last four years and “I am confident that this cabinet, which includes a mix of new and experienced members, will continue to build on that.  

“We are facing an extremely challenging period in Southwark, but I am optimistic that this great team can deliver our ambitious manifesto and pledges over the next twelve months.”

Full list of cabinet members and portfolios:

Cllr Ian Wingfield - Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Communities, Employment & Business

Cllr Fiona Colley - Cabinet Member for Finance, Strategy and Performance 

Cllr Dora Dixon-Fyle - Cabinet Member for Adult Care, Arts and Culture

Cllr Barrie Hargrove - Cabinet Member for Public Health, Parks and Leisure

Cllr Mark Williams - Cabinet Member for Regeneration, Planning and Transport 
Cllr Victoria Mills - Cabinet Member for Children and Schools

Cllr Richard Livingstone - Cabinet Member for Housing

Cllr Darren Merrill - Cabinet Member for Environment, Recycling, Community Safety & Volunteering (Environment & Recycling)

Cllr Michael Situ - Cabinet Member for Environment, Recycling, Community Safety & Volunteering (Community Safety & Volunteering)



website by Hudson Berkley Reinhart Ltd