don't read the menu options and go directly to the page content 

Southwark Labour’s Neil Coyle defeats Simon Hughes in Bermondsey

13 May 2015
Cllr Neil Coyle Southwark Labour councillor Neil Coyle has defeated Simon Hughes to become the new MP for Bermondsey and Old Southwark.

Neil Coyle has become the first Labour MP in Bermondsey for over 30 years, after beating Simon Hughes by more than 4,400 votes in the General Election last week.
Neil Coyle has been a Southwark councillor in Newington ward since 2010 and was selected as Labour’s candidate for Bermondsey & Old Southwark in 2013. Over 1,000 volunteers took part in the campaign, which resulted in a Lib Dem majority of 8,530 being turned into a Labour majority of 4,489.

Neil Coyle said: “It is a real privilege and an honour to have been elected as MP for Bermondsey and Old Southwark. I want say a huge thank you to over 22,000 people who put their trust in me to represent them.” 

“This has been an amazing campaign - our volunteers worked incredibly hard to get this result and I want to thank them all for their support. I will work hard for local people and do my best to get the best deal for constituents from the government.”

Leader of Southwark’s Labour council Peter John said: “This is an incredible result for Labour in Bermondsey. We always knew this would be a really tough fight so to win by such a significant margin is amazing. I am beyond proud of Neil Coyle – he will be a fantastic local MP and champion for Southwark.”

Southwark now has 3 Labour MPs, as Southwark Labour’s Helen Hayes was elected as the new MP in Dulwich and West Norwood and Harriet Harman was re-elected in Camberwell and Peckham. Helen Hayes thanked her predecessor Tessa Jowell who stood down this year after 23 years of “dedicated service as a brilliant representative.” 


website by Hudson Berkley Reinhart Ltd